Can’t be fussed about anything

bo chap is ze middle name

Authentic… SIIII GOOOIIII! May 1, 2007

Filed under: Food,Recommendations — renzi @ 10:46 am

The other day after gym (like almost a month ago hahaha!), a few of us decided to try the former MD’s recommendation. We were going for drinks one night and we happened to pass by this really small dingy looking place (it was dark lah). He then started to rave about the Japanese Ramen this place offered. As I was saying, so yeah, we decided to try out this place.

Wow By the time we got there, there was a queue already. And among the people waiting, at least half of the lot were Japanese. I was feeling really optimistic.

Gyoza Our dish that we shared – Gyoza (S$6). Like most restaurants (other than places like Sakae Sushi), they cook it on the spot. The Gyoza was very tasty and crispy. Yum. We had to wait a little while for our main dish(es) because of the crowd. I did mention on that day that the place was a little too small but I guess that’s how the management wants it to be, which it good lah, to a certain extent. And I have heard that you cannot specify what you don’t want or want more because the cook would take offence – and I guess he would only serve what he wants to serve. Cocky.

Tokusen Miso Tokusen Miso (the ramen with the original flavour – S$12.50). Well… The soup was very flavoursome, a little too salty for my liking but I must say that the noodles are so, according to Avril’s words, “springy” – It really is and I love such noodles. And I heard they constantly brew and rebrew the same stock over and over again (which kinda made me lose a little of my appetite), but that’s how and why the stock or well soup tastes so distinctly miso-y, thick and full of aroma.

Chillimiso The Chillimiso for some reason is slightly cheaper (S$12.00) which puzzles me because chilli is a spice and shouldn’t more spice/ingredients mean that we should be charged more? *shrug* Anyway I prefer this dish to the first bowl of noodles I was talkin about because of the fact that…….. it’s spicy πŸ™‚ Hahahah…. The spiciness combined with the full body of flavours is just sooooo good.

Miso Tsukemen Ahhh…the Miso Tsukemen (S$11.50) is… unique. I know a word cannot sum it up but really, it’s just different because the noodles are cold and the soup is hot (hope I got this right becase this isn’t exactly my dish) so what happens is you dip the cold noodles into the piping hot miso-ish soup and according to my friend, it gives a certain juxtaposition and good feeling to the whole experience of eating that dish. Unique… that’s all I can say. πŸ™‚

Basically we tried most of what’s on the menu. There are, if I remember correctly, 4 main dishes and we tried 3 of them. It wasn’t too bad and apparantly this place is very authentic. Maybe I’ve eaten too much of the shait noodles/ramen that I’m so used to this. But I will go there again because it’s just a nice experience. In fact, I will be going down today with Karen. πŸ™‚

Miharu Sapporo Ramen
76 Robertson Quay #01-11
The Gallery Hotel Singapore 238254

Remember…if you’re there early, and are queueing, please write your name down on the waiting list – you don’t want to wait in the queue for nothing. πŸ™‚

 

2 Responses to “Authentic… SIIII GOOOIIII!”

  1. j*neen Says:

    your post…just made me veryyyyy hungry….

  2. renzi Says:

    hahahaa silly girl. didn’t see you on friday! we missed you!!! πŸ™‚

    anyway let’s catch up soon yeah… πŸ˜€


Leave a Reply

