Can’t be fussed about anything

bo chap is ze middle name

Day 1 May 22, 2007

Filed under: Friends,Monash — renzi @ 2:06 pm

I took a cab to the Singapore General Hospital (down at Outram). I finally got hold of Gabs, well… through Betsy, his girlfriend. She gave me the details and I knew I wanted to go see him.

Prior to that, I got an sms from my cousin saying that Gabs’ condition is pretty critical. This was six in the morning. After I received that message, I couldn’t sleep. All I could do was pray for him.

When I stepped into the hospital and went to the correct level, I searched for the wards. Damn those wards, they’re so confusing! Finally when I reached Gabs’ ward, I walked in, but I couldn’t locate Gabs, nor Betsy. So I walked out and checked the ward tag. I paced up and down the corridoor, and sneaked a few peaks into other wards, hoping to see Gabs, but to no avail. Finally I relented and went to ask the nurse, “Is gabriel staying in one of the wards?”

The nurse smiled and returned sweet sounding reply, a vast contrast to well the deathly sounds of hospitals, “he’s at bed 5” and ushered me to the ward.

There he was……….

I.was.speechless.

I couldn’t even recognise Gabs. I even had to get a reconfirmation that it was Gabs because I turned to his friends, who gave me the “yes, that’s Gabs” look. I walked gingerly towards Gabs and he stretched out his beyond-skinny left arm to greet me. I grabbed his hand and greeted him, and at that split second I almost cried.

He looked so weak, so pale. His cheeks were all sunkened in and I could see every bone sticking out of his body. He looked almost in his mid-forties, a far cry from what he’s supposed to be. He was so skinnier than any anorexic friend of mine. When he spoke to me, it was hardly audible because he was pretty weak but after having a short conversation with him, I moved away to let someone else sit and talk to him.

I was then looking at his photos, a compilation that his girlfriend made and there and then, I started crying. I didn’t know what came over me, but I guess I was overwhelmed by shock mainly, that my good friend is a third of his size and that he’s hardly recognisable. In a short span of 5 months, he lost that much weight.

The only thing that he’s still steadfast is that he’s smiling and still clinging on to God. And for that I’m more moved by it.

Please continue to pray for my friend. He’s hallucinating from time to time and he’s very very weak. Pray for his family and gf as well, that they’re able to cope well as the demands to take care of him increases.

😦

 

Leave a Reply

